Ouch. One of our writers, Brandon S, learned the hard way that uninstalling the spoof 3.1.3 patch (which merely fools iTunes and apps into thinking you’re on 3.1.3)  is a little more complicated than your usual tweak — and certainly more complicated than I had stated in my previous post (“just uninstall it”). My sincere […]
" />

Did you pretend upgrade to BigBoss’s Firmware 3.1.3? Be careful when uninstalling!

Ouch. One of our writers, Brandon S, learned the hard way that uninstalling the spoof 3.1.3 patch (which merely fools iTunes and apps into thinking you’re on 3.1.3)  is a little more complicated than your usual tweak — and certainly more complicated than I had stated in my previous post (“just uninstall it”). My sincere apologies: I had actually read that part in the Cydia tweak description and simply shared the news here.

As it turns out, according to BigBoss himself, whether you installed the first Firmware 3.1.3 tweak (released March 9th) or the Firmware 3.1.3 app (released March 10th), the last thing you want to do is simply uninstall. First of all, to make sure the 3.1.3 tweak works, you have to reboot after you install it. A full reboot is likely required — not just a re-spring.

Secondly, if, for whatever reason, you would like to return to 3.1.2, you have to install the Firmware 3.1.3 app first. Then simply “…use this new app instead to select which firmware you want. Selecting 3.1.2 and rebooting is equivalent to uninstalling the old tweak [the one released on March 9th]”.

That should be all of the information you need to successfully install or uninstall the patch, but you can find the full notes on BigBoss’s site.

[via @mediacrave]

Continue reading:

TAGS: