So, you've decided that when Apple introduces their highly anticipated, larger screen iPhone 6 to the media next week, that you'd like to upgrade from your current iPhone. Great--now what? No worries, it's not that painful to remove all your personal data and return your device to its factory settings--and even if it was, we've got you covered
" />

How to erase all your iPhone data before you sell or trade it

iCloud.jpg

So, you’ve decided that when Apple introduces their highly anticipated, larger screen iPhone 6 to the media next week, that you’d like to upgrade from your current iPhone. Great–now what?  No worries, it’s not that painful to remove all your personal data and return your device to its factory settings–and even if it was, we’ve got you covered.

Back up your iPhone

First and foremost, back up your device–especially if you haven’t been updating automatically every night to iCloud while you sleep.  Back-ups can either be done manually over iTunes, or seamlessly in the background over iCloud.  Personally, I have pretty much cut the cord from iTunes whenever possible.  Besides, with iCloud, I don’t even have to think about backing up my iOS devices, because it all happens in the background automatically_every_night.  Having a tough time deciding which method is best for you, you might be interested in this.

Erase all your data

erase-iPhoneerase-iPhone-warning

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To erase all your data, and set your iPhone up as new so that it is prepared for sale or trade, first open up your settings app…

Go to Settings > General > Reset, then tap Erase All Content and Settings.

If you’re using iOS 7 or later and have Find My iPhone turned on, your Apple ID and password will be required to complete the process.  Now your iOS device will be erased and removed from your account, and you will receive a notification indicating as much on your other iOS devices that use the same Apple ID.  At this point, your device will be completely erased and iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services will no longer be active on this device.

erase-iPhone-password erase-iPhone-password-authentication

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caution

Note:  Apple cautions that you should never manually delete contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photo streams, or any other iCloud data while signed in to your iCloud account, or this content will also be deleted from the iCloud servers and all of your iCloud devices.

Find-my-iPhone-disabled

Continue reading:

TAGS: , , , , , ,